Matt Shakman, Gaalan Michaelson, & Adam Shapiro at the Ovation Award Nominee Reception

Gaalan Michaelson, Adam Shapiro, and Matt Shakman – Team Hey, Morgan!

The 2012 Ovation Award Nominee Reception was held last Sunday night, October 21 at SIX01 in downtown Los Angeles. Nominees had the opportunity to meet each other, receive their nomination certificates and be instructed on the do’s and don’ts at the November 12 ceremony — like how to not break their Ovation Award immediately after receiving it.

The 2012 Ovation Honorary Awards were also presented to Ryan Johnson (Composition for a Play — Stoneface: The Rise and Fall of Buster Keaton for Sacred Fools Theatre Company), Andrew Armani (Fight Choreography –  Hearts Like Fists for Theatre of NOTE ), Susan Gratch (Puppet Design — The Children for Theatre @ Boston Court), and Shawn Sagady (Video Design — American Night: The Ballad of Juan Jose for Center Theatre Group/Kirk Douglas Theatre).

The 2012 Ovation Awards ceremony will take place on Monday, November 12, 2012 at The Los Angeles Theatre in Downtown LA, 615 S. Broadway, LA 90014. The curtain will rise at 7:30 pm. For information, to become a volunteer or a sponsor, and to purchase tickets, visit